UA Logo

Mass Spectrometry Facility

EB-38, Department of Chemistry,
University of Alberta,
Edmonton, AB
Canada T6G 2G2

Electrospray Compatible Solvents:
  • Acetonitrile (CH3CN)
  • Dichloromethane (CH2Cl2) - if mixed with methanol
  • Dichloroethane (CH2ClCH2Cl)
  • Tetrahydrofuran
  • Ethanol (CH3CH2OH)
  • Propanol (CH3CH2CH2OH)
  • Methanol (CH3OH)
  • Nitromethane (CH3NO2)
  • Toluene (C6H5CH3) - if mixed with methanol or acetonitrile
  • Water
NOTE: For air sensitive or protic sensitive samples we provide freshly distilled dichlorethane, THF and nitromethane.
Solvents tolerable in small amounts:
  • Dimethylformamide (DMF) (HCON(CH3)2)
  • Dimethylsulphoxide (DMSO) ((CH3)2SO)
Solvent Modifiers / Additives Compatible with ESI:
  • Volatile Salts or Buffers eg. ammonium acetate (NH4CH3COOH), ammonium bicarbonate (NH4HCO3)
  • Volatile Acids eg. formic acid (HCOOH), acetic acid (CH3COOH)
Solvent Modifiers / Additives NOT Compatible with ESI:
(tolerable in small amounts)
  • Trifluoroacetic acid (TFA)
  • Heptafluorobutyric acid
  • Sodium Dodecyl Sulphate (SDS)
  • Ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA)
  • Involatile Salts or Buffers eg. sodium chloride (NaCl), phosphates (NanH3-nPO4),

For further information, please contact:

©1999 University of Alberta
Last updated: