Todd Lowary

Todd L. Lowary received his B.A. in Chemistry from the University of Montana in 1988 and obtained his Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry under the supervision of Professor Ole Hindsgaul at the University of Alberta in 1993.  He carried out postdoctoral research with Professor David R. Bundle at the University of Alberta (1993-1995), and then with Dr. Morten P. Meldal at the Carlsberg Laboratory in Copenhagen, Denmark (1995-1996).   In 1996, he took a position in The Department of Chemistry at The Ohio State University as an Assistant Professor and in 2002 was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure. In 2003, he returned to the University of Alberta where he is a currently the Raymond U. Lemieux Professor of Carbohydrate Chemistry and a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in the Department of Chemistry. He is also a member of the Alberta Glycomics Centre, a group of ten principal investigators at the University of Alberta and the University of Calgary who work in the areas of carbohydrate chemistry and glycobiology, and is the Scientific Director of the Canadian Glycomics Network (GlyoNet).  Funded by the NCE program, GlycoNet is a pan-Canadian research network with the mission of delivering glycomics-based solutions to unmet medical needs and in so doing improve the quality of life of Canadians. 

Awards and Recognitions


  • Editorial Board of Carbohydrate Research


  • Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers
  • Ohio State University Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching


  • Editor, Carbohydrate Research


  • Horace S. Isbell Award from the Carbohydrate Division of the American Chemical Society


  • E. W. R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship from NSERC
  • Chemistry Students Association Teaching Excellence Award
  • Selected as a member of "Faculty of 1000" Biology


  • Co-chair, Gordon Conference of Carbohydrates
  • Carbohydrate Research Award for Creativity in Carbohydrate Chemistry
  • Richard E. Juday Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, The University of Montana
  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • Editorial Board of Advances in Carbohydrate Chemistry and Biochemistry (2010-2015)
  • Faculty of Science Award for Excellent Teaching
  • Elected a Fellow of the American Chemical Society
  • Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering from NSERC
  • Editorial Board of Chemistry Open (2011-present)
  • Bernard Belleau Award of the Canadian Society for Chemistry
  • Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Chinese Academy of Science Visiting Professorship
  • Melville L. Wolfrom Award from the Carbohydrate Division of the American Chemical Society
  • Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Carbohydrate Chemistry (2014–2021)
  • Instructor Appreciation Night Award from the Interdepartmental Science Students Society (teaching award)
  • Editorial Board, Journal of Biological Chemistry (2014–2019)
  • ASTech Outstanding Leadership in Alberta Science Award
  • Raymond U. Lemieux Chair in Carbohydrate Chemistry (2015–2020)
  • J. Gordin Kaplan Award for Excellence in Research (University of Alberta)
  • Visiting Professor, Institute of Biological Chemistry, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan