Keynote Speakers:

Regan J. Thomson 

Regan J. Thomson was born in New Zealand in 1976, and received his Ph.D. in 2003 at The Australian National University working with Professor Lewis N. Mander.  Following postdoctoral studies with Professor David A. Evans at Harvard University, he joined the faculty at Northwestern University in 2006 where he is currently Professor of Chemistry. Regan’s research interests include reaction development, natural product synthesis and discovery, and atmospheric chemistry. He is the recipient of an NSF CAREER Award (2009), an Amgen Young Investigator Award (2010), an Illinois Division American Cancer Society Research Scholar Award (2012), and a Novartis Chemistry Lectureship (2015–2016).

Scott J. Miller

Scott J. Miller was born on December 11, 1966 in Buffalo, NY. He received his B.A. (1989), M.A. (1989) and Ph.D. (1994) from Harvard University, where he worked in the laboratories of Professor David Evans as a National Science Foundation Predoctoral Fellow.  Subsequently, he traveled to the California Institute of Technology where he was a National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow in the laboratory of Professor Robert Grubbs until 1996. For the following decade, he was a member of the faculty at Boston College, until joining the faculty at Yale University in 2006.  In 2008, he was appointed as the Irénée duPont Professor of Chemistry, and in 2009, the Chairperson of the Chemistry Department, a position he held for two consecutive terms, concluding in 2015.  He also served for a two-year term as the Divisional Director of Science at Yale University from 2015-2017.

Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague

Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague earned B.S. (1985) and Ph.D. (1990) degrees from The University of California, Los Angeles working under the direction of Professor Michael E. Jung. She then moved to Yale University as a National Institutes of Health Postdoctoral Fellow to work with Professor Samuel J. Danishefsky. In 1992, Professor Gervay-Hague began her independent academic career in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Arizona. She was promoted to Associate Professor in 1998. Professor Gervay-Hague spent a sabbatical year as an on-sight consultant at Roche Bioscience in Palo Alto in 2000. During that time, she was recruited to University of California, Davis where she was appointed Professor of Chemistry in 2001. In 2009, Professor Gervay Hague assumed the position of Associate Vice Provost for Outreach and Engagement in the office of the Chancellor and Provost at UC, Davis. In  2011, she was appointed Chair of the Department of Chemistry. Professor Gervay-Hague also served as the Division Director of Chemistry in the Directorate of Math and Physical Sciences at the National Science Foundation from 2013-2014.

Martin D. Eastgate

Martin obtained his bachelor’s degree in Chemistry from the University of Surrey, UK (1999),graduating with first class honors. He received his doctoral degree in Organic Chemistry (2002) from the University of Cambridge, UK, working under the direction of Dr. Stuart Warren. His thesis research involved sulfur participation chemistry, specifically the generation of thiiranium ions under basic conditions and their use in pyrrolidine synthesis. Martin then carried out postdoctoral research with Prof. Scott E. Denmark, at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, working on the Lewis-base activation of Lewis-acids and understanding ligand-field theory in hyper-valent silyl cations.
In 2005 Martin joined Bristol-Myers Squibb and is currently a Group Director in Chemical and Synthetic Development. Martin has led multiple teams to develop novel approaches to complex molecular systems, designing commercial approaches to important drug candidates (such as the HIV attachment inhibitor BMS-663068). Martin is currently responsible for chemical development strategy for all small molecule programs (IND-tox through Ph2a/b) and endorses commercial route selection. Martin leads chemistry recruiting for BMS-Chemical and Synthetic Development, is site-Chair for the BMS Unrestricted-Grant Committee, coordinates academic consulting and coordinates the BMS-Scripps academic collaboration. Additionally, Martin manages the CSDBBRC (BMS-Biocon Research Center in India) interface and coordinates the development and delivery of small-molecule compounds for IND-tox/FIH. Martin is also a member of the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) of Asymchem Life Sciences Inc, is an ad hoc study section member for the NIH and has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC).

Jean-Philip G. Lumb

J.P. obtained his B.A. from Cornell University in 2002. While at Cornell, he worked with Professor Bruce Ganem on the synthesis of mannosidase inhibitors and naturally occurring lipids, and with Professor Geoff Coates on the co-polymerization of epoxides and CO2. In 2003, he moved to the University of California, Berkeley to pursue a Ph.D. with Professor Dirk Trauner. As a graduate student, he focused on the biomimetic synthesis of complex natural products that relied on the orchestration of multi-step cascade reactions. From 2008 to 2011 he was a postdoctoral fellow at Stanford University, working under the supervision of Professor Barry Trost. As a postdoctoral fellow, he developed an atom economic synthesis of pyrroles using palladium catalysis, and an asymmetric coupling of alkynes using palladium and copper-hydride co-catalysis. He also developed a synthetic program towards the tricholomenyns and the complex macrolide amphidinolide N. J.P.’s training encompasses the themes of bio-inspired synthesis and catalysis, which form the corner stones of his independent research career. In 2011, he began an appointment as Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry at McGill University. He was awarded tenure and promoted to the rank of Associate Professor in 2017, and in 2018, he was awarded a Fessenden Professorship.