## Four University of Alberta Chemists to Receive Awards

Four members of the University's Chemistry Department will receive awards for their scientific achievements at the Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC) Annual Conference, which will be held in Edmonton this May at the Shaw Convention Centre (May 24-28, 2008). Professor **Dennis Hall**, a winner of this year's Steacie Fellowship from NSERC, will receive the **Merck** Frosst Lecture Award from the CSC, which is given annually to an organic chemist or biochemist under the age of 40 for his or her research. Professor Chuck Lucy will receive the Maxxam Award for a distinguished contribution in the field of analytical chemistry. Dr. Jamie Rich, now a postdoctoral fellow at UBC, will receive the Boehringer Ingelheim Award, which is given in the field of organic or bioorganic chemistry for doctoral research judged to be of outstanding quality (his PhD thesis was under the direction of Prof. David Bundle). Professor John Vederas will be recognized with the Chemical Institute of Canada Medal, which is the society's highest award for an outstanding contribution to the science of chemistry or chemical engineering in Canada. Over 1800 attendees and ca. 1450 presentations are expected at this event, which is being held in Edmonton for the first time in 16 years. University of Alberta President, Dr. Indira Samarasekera, will give an opening welcome to the delegates.

## **About the Award Winners:**



Charles (Chuck) Lucy, FCIC, is a Professor and Associate Chair of Graduate Studies in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Alberta. He grew up in southwestern Manitoba. Chuck received his B.Sc. (Co-op) from the University of Victoria and his Ph.D. from the University of Alberta under the direction of Fred Cantwell. After an NSERC Postdoctoral at the University of Minnesota (Minneapolis) with Pete Carr, Chuck worked as a Research Scientist at Atomic Energy of Canada's Chalk River Laboratories for three years. He joined the University of Calgary in 1992, and he moved to the University of Alberta in 1999 to join their internationally recognized program in Analytical Chemistry as a full Professor. Chuck has coauthored over 110 papers on fundamental and practical aspects of capillary electrophoresis and liquid chromatography. His work has dealt with diverse applications of chromatography such as chemical warfare monitoring, diesel analysis and water analysis in collaboration with Defense Research (Suffield), Syncrude Canada and Dow Chemicals. Chuck's awards and honoraria include: a U. Calgary Faculty of Science Research Fellowship in 1996; the W.A.E. McBryde Medal from the CSC in 1998; and the International Ion Chromatography Achievement Award in 2002, and the Innovation in Teaching Award from the Faculty of Science in 2007. He is on the Editorial Boards of seven journals including the Canadian Journal of Chemistry.



Dennis Hall was born in Baie-Comeau, in northeastern Québec. Upon completion of high school and CÉGEP, Hall enrolled in the BSc chemistry program of Université de Sherbrooke, and spent co-op terms at DuPont Central Research (Wilmington, Delaware) and Bio-Méga/Boehringer Ingelheim (Laval, Québec). He pursued PhD studies at Sherbrooke in synthetic organic chemistry under the direction of Pierre Deslongchamps. After graduating in 1995, Hall spent two years as an NSERC Postdoctoral Fellow in the labs of Peter Schultz at the University of California, Berkeley, where he focused on bio-organic and combinatorial chemistry. In 1997, he began his independent career in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Alberta. The unifying theme of his research program is the development of new synthetic and biological applications of boronic acid derivatives, with topics including stereocontrolled catalytic allylboration methodology, multicomponent reactions, natural product synthesis, solid-phase organic synthesis, combinatorial chemistry and oligosaccharide recognition. Hall is on the Editorial Advisory Board of the Journal of Combinatorial Chemistry, and served as editor of a major book project (Boronic Acids: Preparation, Applications in Organic Synthesis and Medicine, Wiley-VCH, 2005). He has authored 54 publications as an independent scientist, and he has received other awards, including the AstraZeneca Award in Chemistry (2003), the Martha Cook Piper Research Prize (U. of Alberta, 2004), and was named a Humboldt Research Fellow (2006) and a JSPS Visiting Fellow (2007). He was named a Steacie Fellow in 2008.



Jamie Rich was born in Vancouver and was raised nearby on Bowen Island. He attended both the University of British Columbia and the University of Northern British Columbia. At the latter institution, a summer research opportunity with Kerry Reimer led him to pursue a degree in chemistry. In 2000, Rich began PhD studies at the University of Alberta with David Bundle. His graduate work, supported by NSERC and AHFMR scholarships, focused on the synthesis and immunochemistry of hydrolysis resistant carbohydrate analogues. Following completion of his PhD, Rich moved to Australia where he spent one year as an NSERC postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Mark von Itzstein, working on design and synthesis of new inhibitors of influenza virus sialidase. After a period of parental leave Rich resumed his studies in the laboratories of Stephen Withers at UBC, where he is involved in the development of engineered carbohydrate processing enzymes for the production of novel glycoproteins. He is currently supported by a postdoctoral fellowship from the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research.



John Vederas is University Professor of Chemistry and holds a Canada Research Chair in Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry. He obtained a BSc from Stanford University and a PhD from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His postdoctoral work at the University of Basel (with Christoph Tamm) and at Purdue University (with Heinz Floss) inspired a continuing interest in application of organic chemistry to understanding of biological mechanisms. He joined the University of Alberta as an assistant professor in 1977. He has received recognition for research and teaching from the University of Alberta, including the Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching (1995), the University Cup for Research and Teaching (1998), the J. Gordin Kaplan Award for Excellence in Research (2003) and the Killam Award for Excellence in Mentoring (2003). He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (1997) and an Alberta Centennial Medal recipient (2006). He has received the Merck Sharp Dohme Award (1986), the John Labatt Award (1991), the R. U. Lemieux Award (2002) and the Alfred Bader Award (2005) from the Canadian Society for Chemistry for his research. He also served in numerous scientific organizations, was president of the Canadian Society for Chemistry (2002-2003), and was a Member of Council of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) (2001-2004).