CHEMISTRY NEWSLETTER

Vol. 34, No. 15

22 June 2007

PLEASE NOTE: Until further notice please send any announcements for the Newsletter to Lin Ferguson lin.ferguson@ualberta.ca or drop them off in Room E3-38. Thank you.

VISITING SPEAKERS

Professor Robert Synovec, Department of Chemistry, University of Washington will speak on "Analytical Adventures with Gas Chromatography" on Monday 25 June 2007 in Room E3-25 Gunning/Lemieux Chemistry Centre. Refreshments will be served!

NOTICES

Closing Early! All service offices in the Department of Chemistry will be closed at noon on Friday June 29th in recognition of the support of and as well deserved time off for all of our NASA operating funded employees. Supervisors of NASA staff are asked to work with your employees to provide coverage, only if required, on that afternoon with alternate time off provided if necessary. Thanks to each of our administrative staff, secretaries, shop, IT, stores and lab employees for their tireless support in making Chemistry a great place for research, teaching and learning.

Congratulations to the following students who were recent poster and oral presentation prize winners at the CSC in Winnipeg: Hongqiang Liu, Thannh Luu, Brian Asher, Matthew Ross, Sherri MacLeod, Andrew Grosvenor, Feng Peng, and Lisa Carosi.

Congratulations to Dr. Rod Wasylishen who has been selected as one of the eight 2007-2008 Killam Annual Professors in recognition of his outstanding contributions to scholarship and to the University community.

Congratulations to Dr. Yunjie Xu who has been chosen to receive the Smiths Detection Award for 2007. This award is one of two major awards from the Canadian Society for Analytical Sciences and Spectroscopy, and is given to a Canadian spectroscopist in recognition of a significant contribution to the application of spectroscopy to analytical chemistry or to other technological problems relevant to industry, medicine, or the environment. The award will be presented at the 53rd International Conference for Analytical Sciences and Spectroscopy (ICASS), which will be held in Peterborough, Ontario on June 24-27, 2007.

Congratulations to Dr. Yunjie Xu who has also recently won the Petro Canada Award for Young Innovators. These awards recognize and support innovative research conducted by faculty within eight years of earning their PhD.

Congratulations to Dr. Jillian Buriak who has recently been awarded an E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship. These Fellowships were established in memory of Dr. E.W.R. Steacie, President of the National Research Council of Canada from 1952 to 1962, and are the most prestigious awards made by NSERC to outstanding and highly promising young researchers.

Fond Farewells and Best Wishes go to Hubert Hofmann (Machine Shop Supervisor) and Vi Craige (Purchasing Coordinator) who are both retiring at the end of June. Hubert started in the Department on August 1, 1965 and Vi joined the Department of Chemistry on July 13, 1998. We wish you much happiness and many new exciting adventures in the next chapter of your life. A Department function will be held later in the summer. Watch the Newsletter for more details.

Outreach Activities can be accessed at: www.ualberta.ca/Outreach/whats%20new.htm#science

41st Annual Chemistry Golf Day

June 13, 2007 - Victoria Golf Course

1 st Place -	65 (-6)	Matt Willans, Mitch Flegel, Glen Shoemaker, Ryan Fradette
2 nd Place -	68 (-3)	Ryan Lewis, Al Chilton, Mike Ferguson, Jason Cooke
3 rd Place -	69 (-2)	Tyler Fitzgerald, Dian Fitzgerald, Sean McClure, Brian Daly
4 th Place -	70 (-1)	Wes Chalifoux, Curtis Rieder, Jeff Johnston, Craig Stewart
5 th Place -	72 (+1)	Owen Lightbody, Eric Flaim, Corwin Nycholat, Eric Pelletier
		Walter Harris, Scott Delinger, Norman Gee, Bryce Young
7 th Place -	73 (+2)	Robin Hamilton, Kant Siva, Andrew Sullivan, James Sochan
8 th Place -	76 (+5)	Bryan Chan, Kaoru Morita, Masaki Morita, Jeremy Gauthier
9 th Place -	77 (+6)	Wendy Brown, Fraser Wilson, Jon Veinot
Most Honest		Alex Brown, Dan St-Germain (SGI), Darrel Cotton, Stephanie Hanson (VWR)

Competition Holes

Men's Longest Drive (Hole #4) - Ryan Lewis

Ladies' Closest to the Pin (Hole #7) - no tee-shots on the green

Front Nine Longest Putt (Hole #9) - Kaoru Morita Men's Closest to the Pin (Hole #12) - Bryan Chan Ladies' Longest Drive (Hole #13) - Wendy Brown Back Nine Longest Putt (Hole #18) - Wendy Brown

Many Thanks to our Sponsors:

Department of Chemistry
Fisher Scientific, SGI, VWR Canlab, Varian Canada Inc
and to our Tournament Organizers: Jason Cooke & Alex Brown

Thanks to all participants who made the Golf Day a fun one!